Destinations South

Turistics Places in South DR


Baní is a capital town of the Peravia Province, Dominican Republic. It is the commercial and manufacturing center in a region producing bananas and coffee. The city of Baní is the capital of the Peravia province; its residents also know it as the home of poets. It’s only an hour’s drive west of Santo Domingo. The province’s population is relatively small with 169,865 people, and only 61,864 in the Bani metro area. This is a tightly knit community with families and neighborhoods dating back several centuries.


Barahona, also known as Santa Cruz de Barahona, is the main city of the Barahona Province, in the south of the Dominican Republic. It is one of the most important cities on the island, with a very active port and many ecotourism attractions. The city is also a centre of sugar production and industry.


The Dominican city of Pedernales is the capital of the Pedernales Province, in the Dominican Republic. It is located in the southwest of the country. As it is located on the border, there is a crossing to the Haitian town of Anse-à-Pitres.


Azua is a Dominican province; it is in the southern part of the country, along the Caribbean coast. Its capital city is Azua de Compostela. After the Dominican independence from Haiti, Azua was one of the five original provinces of the country; all the southwestern part of the country was part of this province, including some regions that now are part of Haiti.

More information about this article, please go to: